Rwanda : Efficient cookstoves

Total savings: 40,000 tonnes of CO₂ per year, over 10 years
Technology transfer: Efficient firewood stoves that save 80% of energy
Local environment: Less deforestation in the region
Further advantages: Fewer expenses for household energy (on charcoal), lowering the potential for tension over firewood
Project partner: SaferRwanda, Rwanda Women Network, UNHCR Rwanda, INYENYERI, ENEDOM (The´Energie Domestique SARL)

Project status Rwanda

Population growth increases fuel wood demand

With a population density of over 390 inhabitants per km², Rwanda is one of the most densely populated countries in Africa (as a reference, Germany has 235 inhabitants per km² and Kenya only 68 inhabitants per km2). The ongoing population growth is causing the demand for energy to rise.

In addition Rwanda hosts more than 70,000 refugees from Congo which have fled from violent clashes in the east of the Congo to safety in Rwanda. Due to lack of land and resources the refugee situation adds to the pressure on the natural resources and especially the supply of fuel wood to the camps becomes more and more difficult. The long cooking time for beans and maize, which are one of the foods mainly provided adds to the difficult situation.

Highly efficient wood stoves help to reduce the demand for fuel wood significantly and thus contribute to easing the difficult living conditions of refugees. They also help in reducing the potential risk of conflict with the host communities due to competition for the same resources. Since firewood is supplied by UNHCR and is procured locally a reduction of fuel wood supply will make available funds for other activities.

Additionally, skills training and income opportunities are generated since stoves assembly and user training are conducted locally. In the case of UNHCRF stoves assembly and user training is done by refugees whereas other partners involve mainly women in the bending, assembly and distribution of the stoves. User trainings and demonstrations also bring together households to share experiences, knowledge and cooking recipes.

Stove demonstration UNHCR

During a cookstove demonstration at the UNHCR refugee camp

Achievment of higher efficiency leads to fewer expanse for energy

The design and construction of the efficient firewood stoves makes them as easy and intuitive to use as the stoves that preceded them. Compared to a traditional three-stone fire, the new stove uses 80% less wood to achieve the same performance. Replacing a charcoal stove with a wood stove results in even higher wood savings given the large amount of wood needed to produce charcoal (9kg of wood for 1kg of charcoal). Rwandan households therefore can save substantially since the charcoal prices are rising due to its high demand as well as the rising costs of production and transport.

Additional savings enable the families to meet their other household financial needs. Furthermore, atmosfair subsidises the stoves so that low-income households can also afford them. The stoves can also be paid off in instalments.

To ensure the high efficiency and long service life (>10 years) of the stoves, industrialised pre-production and high-quality materials (stainless steel) are used. The components are prefabricated in Germany, and the stoves are produced in Rwanda. Every part that can be sourced locally is sourced locally. For instance the pots and the adapter rings for the pots are both produced in Kigali.

Our Partners:

SAFER RWANDA , an independent non-state actor and non-for-profit organization established in 2000. SaferRwanda is engaged in several peace and environmental protection projects such as solar energy, tree planting, energy saving cookstoves and disarmament of light weapons.

RWANDA WOMEN'S NETWORK is a national humanitarian non-governmental organisation (NGO) dedicated to promotion and improvement of the socio-economic welfare of women in Rwanda since 1997. Over time, the organization has dedicated its efforts to strategies that empower women and has extensive experience in fostering women's participation and grassroots responses to community challenges. To date, RWN works with various local and international partners and a network of over 52 grassroots associations across the country.

THE OFFICE OF THE UNITED NATIONS HIGH COMMISSIONER FOR REFUGEES ("UNHCR"), established by the United Nations General Assembly, which is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. It strives to ensure that everyone can exercise the right to seek asylum and find safe refuge in another state, with the option to return home voluntarily, integrate locally or to resettle in a third country. Currently there are more than 70,000 refugees from Congo in Rwanda being assisted by UNHCR.

INYENYERI – A Rwandan social benefit company seeks to eliminate the negative impacts of cooking with traditional wood stoves by providing highly efficient gasification stoves to customers free of charge and by producing and selling biomass fuel pellets which are used in the stoves. The pellets are made from plant material that is crowd sourced from Rwandan farmers who collect the raw biomass that is abundant around their homes and farms. atmosfair supports Inyenyeri by purchasing the carbon credits which enables Inyenyeri to receive loans to finance the upfront costs of the gasification stoves.

ENEDOM (ENERGIE DOMESTIQUE SARL), a small-scale enterprise located in Kigali. ENEDOM's goal is to find new ways to supply households with alternative energies in order to support environmental protection. ENEDOM has a great stake in setting up the project in Rwanda. ENEDOM has also developed its own locally produced efficient cookstove which is currently being quality tested and test sold in Rwanda. ENEDOM is furthermore involved in the local production and selling of heat retaining cooking bags and sustainably harvested wood.

Your contact at atmosfair

$picture_alt_text

Sven Bratschke | Manager CDM Projects

M.Sc. Global Change Management

☎ +49 (0) 30 120 84 80 - 63
[email protected]

Ruanda : Effiziente Öfen

Gesamteinsparung: 40.000 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr, gemittelt über 10 Jahre
Technologietransfer: Effiziente Öfen sparen 80% Energie ein
Lokale Umwelt: Vermeidung von Abholzung in der Region
Weitere Vorteile: Niedrigere Kosten für Haushaltsenergie
Projektpartner: SaferRwanda, Rwanda Women Network, UNHCR Rwanda, INYENYERI, ENEDOM (The´Energie Domestique SARL)

Projektstatus Ruanda

Bevölkerungswachstum erhöht Brennholznachfrage

Ruanda ist mit über 390 Personen je km2 eines der am dichtesten besiedelten Länder Afrikas (zum Vergleich: in Deutschland leben rund 235 EW je km2, in Kenia sind es nur 68). Durch das Bevölkerungswachstum steigt die Nachfrage nach Holz als Brennstoff an.

Zusätzlich erhöht sich der Druck auf natürliche Ressourcen durch Flüchtlinge, die aus dem östlichen Kongo nach Ruanda fliehen. Mittlerweile beherbergt Ruanda 70.000 Flüchtlinge, die hauptsächlich in Flüchtlingslagern untergebracht sind und dort von dem UNHCR mit dem Nötigsten versorgt werden. Als Nahrungsmittel werden vor allem Mais und Bohnen bereitgestellt, die jedoch besonders lange gekocht werden müssen. Dementsprechend erhöht sich die Nachfrage nach Feuerholz. Es wird nicht nur immer schwieriger die Flüchtlingslager mit Holz zu versorgen, sondern auch den Holzbedarf ganz Ruandas zu decken.

Wie in vielen anderen afrikanischen Ländern auch, stellen Holz und Kohle die wichtigste Energiequelle für Haushalte in Ruanda dar. Da sich dies in Zukunft nicht ändern wird, ist es besonders wichtig die wachsende Nachfrage dieser beiden Ressourcen zu bedienen, ohne mehr Bäume abzuholzen als im selben Zeitraum nachwachsen können.

Stove demonstration UNHCR

Bei einer Ofendemonstration im UNHCR Flüchtlingslager

Effizienzgewinn führt zu Einsparungen bei Energieausgaben

Die effizienten Öfen verringern den Holzbedarf beim Kochen um bis zu 80 %, womit der Lebensalltag maßgeblich verbessert werden kann. Gleichzeitig werden potentielle Konflikte um Holzressourcen zwischen Flüchtlingen und benachbarten Kommunen minimiert. Die UNHCR, die den Flüchtlingen das Feuerholz bereitstellt, kann zudem das eingesparte Geld für andere Aktivitäten benutzen.

Die effizienten Holzöfen werden in Ruanda aus importierten Komponenten gefertigt, womit lokale Arbeitsplätze geschaffen und Einkommensmöglichkeiten generiert werden. Flüchtlinge werden z.B. vom UNHCR im Zusammenbauen von Öfen trainiert und bezahlt. Andere Partner beschäftigen hauptsächlich Frauen im Kanten und Zusammenbauen der Öfen. Trainings und Demonstrationen, wie man den Ofen am effektivsten benutzt, haben nicht nur einen positiven Effekt auf die effiziente Nutzung des Ofens, sondern bringen auch Haushalte zusammen, die sich über Erfahrungen, Wissen oder auch Rezepte austauschen.

Das spezielle Design und Konstruktion des neuen, effizienten Holzofens (genannt Save80) machen das Kochen genauso einfach und intuitiv wie auf einem traditionellen Drei-Steine-Feuer. Allerdings benötigt der Save80 bis zu 80 % weniger Holz als traditionelle Kochstellen. Wenn ein Kohleofen durch einen Save80 ersetzt wird, sind die Holzeinsparungen sogar noch größer, da für die Produktion von 1kg Kohle 9kg Holz benötigt werden. Ruandas Haushalte können somit erheblich sparen, da die Holzkohlepreise durch die starke Nachfrage, erhöhte Transporte und Herstellungskosten immer wieder gestiegen sind.

Die zusätzlichen Einsparungen durch den geringeren Holzbedarf ermöglicht es Haushalten andere finanzielle Ausgaben zu decken. atmosfair subventioniert die Öfen,  wodurch sich gerade auch einkommensschwache Haushalte den Save80 leisten können und somit etwas unabhängiger von den Preisschwankungen des Holzmarktes werden. Zudem gibt es die Möglichkeit den Ofen in Raten abzubezahlen.

Unsere Partner:

SAFER RWANDA– ist eine unabhängige, gemeinnützige Nichtregierungsorganisation, die 2000 gegründet wurde. Safer Rwanda ist in verschiedenen Friedens- und Umweltprojekten engagiert, wie zum Beispiel Solarenergie, Wiederaufforstung, effiziente Öfen und Abrüstung von Handfeuerwaffen.

RWANDA WOMEN`S NETWORK (RWN) – eine nationale, humanitäre Nichtregierungsorganisation, die sich für die Promotion und Verbesserung des sozial-ökonomischen Gemeinwohles von Frauen in Ruanda seit 1997 einsetzt. Die Organisation hat es sich zum Ziel erklärt die Stellung der Frau in Ruanda zu stärken. Mit ihren langjährigen Erfahrungen hilft sie Frauen sich Problemen in der Gemeinde zu stellen und sich aktiv am Gemeindeleben zu beteiligen. RWN arbeitet mit verschiedenen lokalen und internationalen Organisationen, sowie mit landesweiten grassroot Verbänden zusammen.

Das UN-Flüchtlingshilfswerk (UNHCR) – das UNHCR wurde von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen ins Leben gerufen, um internationale Maßnahmen für den Schutz von Flüchtlingen zu koordinieren und Flüchtlingsprobleme zu lösen. Das Hauptziel ist es die Rechte und das Wohlergehen von Flüchtlingen zu schützen. Zudem bemüht sich UNHCR, dass jeder das Recht Asyl zu beantragen und in einem anderen Land Zuflucht zu finden, ausleben kann und sich gleichzeitig freiwillig entscheiden kann, ob er zurück ins Heimatland, lokal integriert werden oder sich in einem dritten Land niederlassen möchte. Momentan werden mehr als 70.000 Flüchtlinge aus dem Kongo von der UNHCR in Ruanda unterstützt.

INYENYERI – ein ruandisches sozial nachhaltiges Unternehmen, das die negativen Effekte, besonders die starke Rauchentwicklung, durch Kochen mit traditionellen Kochstellen eliminieren möchte. Dafür stellt die Organisation den Kunden sehr effiziente Holzvergasungsöfen kostenlos zur Verfügung und stellt Holzpellets aus überschüssiger Biomasse her. Diese Pellets werden dann an die Kunden verkauft. Die Biomasse stammt von Farmen, die entweder ihre Erntereste oder überschüssige Biomasse an Inyenyeri verkaufen. atmosfair unterstützt Inyenyeri durch die Abnahme der Kohlenstoffzertifikate, wodurch Inyenyeri Zugang zu Krediten bekommt um die effizienten Holzvergasungsöfen zu finanzieren.

ENEDOM (ENERGIE DOMESTIQUE SARL) – ein kleines Unternehmen aus Kigali. ENEDOM´s Ziel ist es neue Wege für die Energieversorgung von Haushalten zu finden, um die Umwelt zu schützen. ENEDOM war der erste atmosfair Partner in Ruanda und hat einen großen Teil zum Aufbau des Projektes beigetragen. Das Unternehmen hat zudem einen eigenen effizienten Ofen entwickelt, der momentan einem Qualitätscheck unterläuft und zum Test verkauft wird. Außerdem ist ENEDOM an der lokalen Produktion und dem Verkauf von isolierenden Kochbeuteln und nachhaltig gewirtschaftetem Holz beteiligt.

Projekt jetzt unterstützen

Ihr Ansprechpartner bei atmosfair

$picture_alt_text

Sven Bratschke | Manager Klimaschutzprojekte

M.Sc.Global Change Management

☎ +49 (0)30 627 35 50 - 16
[email protected]