Who flies? Who pays?

Only about 5 percent of the world population has ever flown. This minority, which flies more and more often, lives mostly in industrialised countries. The consequences of climate change, however, primarily affect those who have contributed little to it, i.e. people in developing countries.

  • About 2.4 billion people live in rural areas and depend directly on agriculture and thereby on climatic conditions for their livelihood.
  • Climate change that causes natural disasters, such as increasingly frequent droughts and storms, represent a direct existential threat to these people.
  • Every 30 seconds a child dies from malaria. Among infectious diseases, malaria is the second most common cause of death. Increasing temperatures will allow malaria to spread into new areas.
  • Rising sea levels not only threaten beautiful sandy beaches, but above all endanger the homes and livelihoods of many people in coastal areas. In the Philippines, 17 million people are already exposed to the risks of floods and encroaching salt water.
  • Experts prognosticate a partial sinking of Bangladesh due to coastal flooding and rising rivers. In the long run, small island states, like Tuvalu in the Pacific, are likely to disappear completely.
Flood in Thailand

Flood in Thailand

Wer fliegt, wer bezahlt? – Thema Klimagerechtigkeit

Nur etwa fünf Prozent der Menschen sind schon einmal in der Luft gewesen. Diese Minderheit, die immer häufiger fliegt, wohnt hauptsächlich in Industrieländern. Von den Folgen des Klimawandels sind aber vor allem diejenigen betroffen, die bisher kaum dazu beigetragen haben: Menschen in Entwicklungsländern.

  • Rund 2,4 Milliarden Menschen leben auf dem Land und sind direkt von der Landwirtschaft – und damit von klimatischen Bedingungen – abhängig.
  • Veränderungen des Klimas, wie vermehrt auftretende Dürren oder Stürme, bedeuten für sie eine unmittelbare Gefährdung der Existenz.
  • Alle 30 Sekunden stirbt ein Kind an Malaria. Malaria ist bei den Infektionskrankheiten weltweit die zweithäufigste Todesursache. Durch steigende Temperaturen können die Mücken, die die Krankheit übertragen, in immer neue Gebiete vordringen.
  • Der ansteigende Meeresspiegel bedroht nicht nur wunderschöne Sandstrände, sondern vor allem auch den Lebensraum vieler Menschen, die an der Küste leben. In den Philippinen sind bereits heute 17 Millionen den Risiken durch Fluten, Überschwemmungen und dem Eindringen von Salzwasser ausgesetzt.
  • Ein Teil von Bangladesch wird durch Sturmfluten und Flussüberschwemmungen versinken, sagen Forscher voraus. Kleine Inselstaaten, wie Tuvalu im Pazifik, drohen langfristig komplett zu verschwinden.
Überschwemmung in Thailand

Überschwemmung in Thailand