On CO2 calculation

How is the atmosfair offsetting contribution calculated?

For this, there are two components that come together: firstly the CO2 emissions of a flight and secondly the costs of saving this amount in a climate protection project.

  1. The CO2 emissions of a flight are calculated using the atmosfair emissions calculator. With this, other pollutants like nitrogen oxide or soot particles besides pure CO2 emissions are also included that warm the climate in addition to CO2. For this reason, the values for a flight with atmosfair are higher than with most other emissions calculators.

The emissions calculator sets a price of 23 euros per tonne of carbon dioxide. These 23 euros are currently needed in order to save a tonne of CO2 in high-quality climate protection projects in developing countries. An example can illustrate how the price of saving a tonne of CO2 comes into being:

On the roofs in an outer settlement of Cape Town in South Africa, all warm water is normally heated using diesel cookers. This is emissions-intensive and moreover expensive. atmosfair arranges the installation of solar panels with a project operator in South Africa; these panels are mounted onto house roofs and heat the water directly. To implement the 50 installations, the operator receives the 23,000 € required from atmosfair. In the ten years of the contractual term, 40,000 litres of diesel will be saved each year and thus the climate will be saved 1,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide (CO2) in total. Thus, in this project, atmosfair can save 1,000 tonnes of CO2 with 23,000 €. atmosfair concludes a contract with the project operator, after which the operator receives 23 € from atmosfair for a demonstrably saved tonne of CO2, and pays the first 15,000 € as an advance payment so that the project operator can begin. A UN-accredited auditor who is liable for any mistakes must complete the verification of the successful  CO2 reduction.

The principle of saving emissions caused somewhere else underlies the economic insight that it is less expensive to avoid damage than to repair it. In other words, once a storm destroys a settlement the costs for rebuilding it are higher than the costs of climate gas avoidance that would not have allowed the storm to arise in the first place. Thus, the emissions contribution of a long-distance flight does not reflect the costs for the "repair" of the damage caused to the climate, but rather the amount that is required to avoid these emissions somewhere else.

Why do even the shortest flights always cost at least 6 euros?

atmosfair sets a minimum price for all flights of 6 euros for one-way flights and 9 euros for roundtrip flights so that the topic "air traffic and climate" will be taken seriously.

A smaller contribution would suggest that short-distance flights are unproblematic for the environment. However, this is not the case because even a flight from Berlin to Munich and back creates 300 kg CO2 per passenger. This is already the equivalent of three times the yearly usage of a refrigerator or one-seventh the yearly environmentally sound annual climate budget for one person.

In addition, flights covering short distances are those that are the easiest to replace with a train journey. If we stay with the example from above: if you cover the route from Berlin to Munich with an ICE train, you create just a fifth (around 60 kg) of the incidental flight emissions over the round-trip journey!

Why does the emissions calculator only make its calculations using carbon dioxide? Airplanes also emit other pollutants that harm the climate.

Carbon dioxide, nitrogen oxide, soot and sulphur particles as well as water vapour from aircraft engines affect the climate with different durations and intensities. But because all of these together add to the layers of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, atmosfair calculates them approximately in terms of carbon dioxide.

In sum, the different emissions in high flight altitudes of more than nine kilometres have an effect that is about three times as strong as the carbon dioxide of a flight.

In order to appropriately represent the climate impact of all flight emissions, the atmosfair emissions calculator multiplies the CO2 emissions emitted at altitudes over 9 km with the global average multiplicator of 3. This multiplicator results when the global warming potential of all non-CO2 effects is integrated and discounted over 100 years (UNFCC) and (David Lee et al., "Transport impacts on atmosphere and climate: Aviation", in atmospheric environment (44), 2010).

How is the environmentally sound annual climate budget for one person calculated?

In order to keep global warming of the climate within limits (maximum 2° C warming), humankind can only produce a certain amount of climate gases. If all people worldwide had the same emissions allowances derived from the total amount of environmentally sustainable emissions, each person would only be allowed to cause around 2,300 kg of CO2 per year. A person who travels 30 km each day with a car has already exhausted his or her annual budget by emitting 2,000 kg of CO2. A single plane trip from Germany to the Caribbean already produces around 4,000 kg of CO2 on the outbound and return flights! To this are added the cumulative emissions from household and leisure activities.

In a comparative graphic atmosfair currently uses 2,300 kg of CO2 in the emissions calculator as the environmentally sound yearly budget of one person. However, this amount is only justifiable under the premise that the per capita emissions will decrease significantly in the medium term.

The German Advisory Council on Global Change (WGBU) assumes to different scenarios in its calculations to reach the 2° C goal (limiting the average temperature increase until 2050 to a maximum of 2°C). According to the WGBU, the environmentally sound yearly budget of a person lies somewhere between 1.8 t and 2.7 t of CO2. atmosfair assumes a budget of ca. 2.300 kg CO2 in the long term (see WBGU Special Report 2009).

The industrialised countries are far from this goal. In 2005, the yearly carbon dioxide emissions in the USA were almost 20 tonnes per capita, in Germany 10.5 tonnes, and in China already at 3.6 tonnes (see lpb Baden-Württemberg).

 

Do short-distance flights cause more emissions than long-distance flights?

Basically, it's the case that the longer the flight is, the more detrimental its impact on the climate. This is because for each additional kilometre flown, more fuel is used and thus more greenhouse gases are emitted. However, if we consider the relative consumption per 100 kilometres of the flight route, this relationship changes.

On the one hand, aircrafts fly along short-distance routes up to around 400-600 kilometres in low atmospheric altitudes, in which no contrails or ice clouds are created. The ozone formation from nitrogen oxide is less here than in altitudes above around 9 kilometres. Finally, the kerosene tanks of an aircraft that must only cover 500 kilometres are much lighter than those of one that will cover a long-distance flight. On the other hand, the kerosene-intensive ascent of a short-distance flight carries much more weight than it does on an intercontinental flight.

You can find detailed information on the topic "distances" in the atmosfair emissions calculator documentation.

 

Is it important whether I fly on a scheduled or a charter flight?

On a charter aircraft, more passengers typically fly than in a scheduled plane of the same size. Due to the higher utilisation of the charter plane, a person travelling on a packaged tour has less of an impact on the climate than an individual traveller.

You can find detailed information on the topic "capacity utilisation" in the atmosfair emissions calculator documentation.

Why can one enter either business or economy class? Does that make a difference?

The seats are wider in business class. As a result, fewer people can be seated in the same amount of space as in economy class. Because the fuel consumption per person decreases when more people can be seated in an aircraft, the atmosfair contribution for a seat in business class is higher on average than the emissions contribution for a seat in economy class. As a consequence, passengers in economy class donate somewhat less and passengers in business somewhat more than average.

You can find detailed information on the topic "flight class" in the atmosfair emissions calculator documentation.

 

Do I need to know the aircraft model?

The more precise the flight data that you enter into the emissions calculator are, the more exactly the resulting per person emissions can be calculated. However, if you do not know the aircraft model, the emissions contribution can still be calculated using atmosfair's approximated values. The calculator knows all the aircraft models that fly on a given route and forms an average value from these. Naturally, entering the aircraft model makes the calculation more exact. The emissions calculator has all consumption data of all commercial aircrafts saved, so it captures most civil air transport. Because only certain models are used on each route, the emissions calculator compiles a virtual average aircraft that is typical for the connection at hand.

You can find detailed information on the topic "aircraft type" in the atmosfair emissions calculator documentation.

 

How exact are the results of the emissions calculator?

It is clear that only the likely climate gas emissions of a flight can be calculated. If the aircraft must circle due to icy runways or if the occupancy is exceptionally high or low, the calculator cannot take this into account. In this respect, the emissions calculator's results cannot be as exact as directly measuring the emissions on-site. However, in general, its results should correspond well with reality due to the range and quality of the underlying data.

You can find a discussion of the methods and the accuracy of results in the atmosfair emissions calculator documentation.

Zur CO2-Berechnung

Wie berechnet sich der atmosfair-Kompensationsbeitrag?

Hier gibt es zwei Komponenten, die zusammenfließen: Erstens die CO2-Emissionen auf einem Flug und zweitens die Kosten, um diese Menge in einem Klimaschutzprojekt einzusparen.

1. Die CO2-Emissionen auf einem Flug werden vom atmosfair Emissionsrechner berechnet. Dabei werden neben den reinen CO2-Emissionen auch andere Schadstoffe wie Stickoxide oder Rußpartikel einbezogen,  die neben dem CO2 das Klima erwärmen.  Aus diesem Grund liegen die Werte für eine Flugreise bei atmosfair meist höher als bei anderen Emissionsrechnern.
Der Emissionsrechner setzt einen Preis von 23 Euro pro Tonne Kohlendioxid an. Diese 23 Euro werden aktuell benötigt, um eine Tonne CO2 in hochwertigen Klimaschutzprojekten in Entwicklungsländern einzusparen. Ein Beispiel kann das Zustandekommen des Preises für die Einsparung einer Tonne CO2 illustrieren:

Auf Dächern in einer Außensiedlung von Cape Town in Südafrika wird das gesamte Warmwasser normalerweise mit Dieselkochern erhitzt. Dies ist emissionsintensiv und zudem teuer. atmosfair vereinbart mit einem Projektbetreiber in Südafrika die Installation von Solarpanels, die auf die Häuserdächer montiert werden und das Wasser direkt erhitzen. Für die Realisierung der 50 Anlagen bekommt der Betreiber die benötigten 23.000 € von atmosfair. In zehn Jahren vertraglicher Laufzeit sollen damit jährlich 40000 Liter Diesel und dem Klima so insgesamt 1000 Tonnen Kohlendioxid (CO2) erspart werden. atmosfair kann mit 23.000 € also 1000 Tonnen CO2 in diesem Projekt einsparen. atmosfair schließt mit dem Projektbetreiber einen Vertrag, wonach dieser für eine nachweislich eingesparte Tonne CO2 einen Betrag von 23 € von atmosfair bekommt, und bezahlt die ersten 15.000 EUR als Vorschuss, damit der Betreiber das Projekt beginnen kann. Den Nachweis über die erfolgreiche CO2-Minderung muss ein zugelassener UN-Prüfer erbringen, der für Fehler haftet.
Dem Prinzip der Einsparung verursachter Emissionen an anderer Stelle liegt die ökonomische Erkenntnis zugrunde, dass es günstiger ist, Schäden zu vermeiden als zu reparieren. Anders gesagt: Wenn ein Sturm erst einmal eine Siedlung zerstört hat, dann sind die Kosten für den Wiederaufbau höher als die Kosten für eine Klimagasvermeidung, die den Sturm gar nicht erst aufkommen ließe. Der Emissionsbeitrag für einen Fernflug spiegelt also nicht die Kosten für die „Reparatur" des entstandenen Schadens am Klima wider, sondern den Betrag, der notwendig ist, diese Emissionen an anderer Stelle zu vermeiden.

Warum kosten auch die kürzesten Flüge immer mindestens 6 Euro?

atmosfair setzt für alle Flüge einen Mindestpreis von 6 Euro für einfache Flüge und 9 Euro für Hin- und Rückflüge an, damit das Thema „Flugverkehr und Klima" ernsthaft genommen wird.
Ein geringerer Beitrag würde suggerieren, Kurzstreckenflüge seien für die Umwelt unproblematisch. Das sind sie aber nicht, denn selbst ein Flug von Berlin nach München und zurück verursacht pro Passagier 300 kg CO2. Dies entspricht bereits dem dreifachen Jahresverbrauch eines Kühlschranks bzw. einem Siebtel des klimaverträglichen Jahresbudgets eines Menschen.
Zudem lassen sich gerade die Flüge über kurze Distanzen am einfachsten auf die Schiene verlagern. Um bei dem genannten Beispiel zu bleiben: Wer die Strecke Berlin – München mit dem ICE zurücklegt, verursacht auf Hin- und Rückweg nur etwa ein Fünftel (rund 60 kg) der anfallenden Flugemissionen!

Wieso rechnet der Emissionsrechner nur mit Kohlendioxid? Flugzeuge emittieren doch auch noch andere Klimaschadstoffe.

Kohlendioxid, Stickoxid, Ruß- und Schwefelpartikel sowie Wasserdampf aus Flugzeugtriebwerken beeinflussen das Klima unterschiedlich lange und intensiv. Da diese jedoch alle zusammen das Treibhausdach bilden, rechnet atmosfair sie näherungsweise in Kohlendioxid um.
In der Summe wirken die verschiedenen Emissionen in großen Flughöhen von mehr als neun Kilometern etwa dreimal so stark wie die des Kohlendioxid eines Fluges.
Um die Klimawirkung der gesamten Flugemissionen angemessen wiederzugeben, multipliziert der atmosfair Emissionsrechner deswegen die in Höhen von über  9 km emittierten CO2-Emissionen mit dem global gemittelten Faktor 3. Dieser Faktor ergibt sich, wenn das Global Warming Potential aller Non-CO2 Effekte über 100 Jahre integriert (UNFCC Konvention) und abdiskontiert wird (David Lee et al., „Transport impacts on atmosphere and climate: Aviation", in „atmospheric environment (44), 2010).

Wie berechnet sich das klimaverträgliche Jahresbudget eines Menschen?

Um die globale Erwärmung des Klimas in verträglichen Grenzen zu halten (maximal 2°C Erwärmung), darf die Menschheit nur eine bestimmte Menge an Klimagasen produzieren. Würde man allen Menschen weltweit die gleichen Emissionsrechte an der Gesamtmenge der klimaverträglichen Emissionen zugestehen, dürfte jeder Mensch nur etwa 2.300 kg CO2 pro Jahr verursachen. Wer täglich etwa 30 km mit dem Auto zurücklegt, hat sein Jahresbudget mit einem Ausstoß von 2.000 kg CO2 also beinahe ausgeschöpft. Eine einzige Flugreise von Deutschland in die Karibik erzeugt auf Hin- und Rückflug sogar schon etwa 4.000 kg CO2! Hinzu kommen zudem die sich kumulierenden Emissionen aus Haushalt und Freizeitaktivitäten.

atmosfair setzt in der Vergleichsgrafik im Emissionsrechner aktuell eine Menge von 2.300 kg CO2 als klimaverträgliches Jahresbudget eines Menschen an. Diese Menge ist allerdings nur unter der Prämisse vertretbar, dass die Pro-Kopf-Emissionen mittelfristig erheblich gesenkt werden.

Der Wissenschaftliche Beirat der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WGBU) geht in seinen Berechnungen zur Erreichung des globalen 2°C-Zieles (Limitierung des Temperaturanstieges bis 2050 auf max. 2°C) von zwei unterschiedlichen Szenarien aus. Demnach liegt das klimaverträgliche Jahresbudget eines Menschen zwischen 1,8t und 2,7t CO2. atmosfair geht langfristig von ca. 2.300 kg CO2 aus. (vgl. WBGU Sondergutachten 2009).

Von diesem Ziel sind die Industrieländer weit entfernt. Der Kohlendioxid-Ausstoß lag 2005 in den USA bei knapp 20 Tonnen pro Kopf im Jahr, in Deutschland bei 10,5 Tonnen und in China bereits bei 3,6 Tonnen (vgl. lpb Baden-Württemberg).

Sind Kurzstreckenflüge schädlicher als Langstreckenflüge?

Grundsätzlich gilt: Je länger ein Flug ist, desto schädlicher seine Wirkung auf das Klima. Denn für jeden Kilometer, der weiter geflogen wird, wird auch insgesamt mehr Treibstoff verbraucht und dadurch mehr Treibhausgase ausgestoßen. Wenn wir dagegen den relativen Verbrauch pro 100 Kilometer Flugstrecke betrachten, ändert sich das Verhältnis.

Einerseits bewegen sich Flugzeuge auf Kurzstreckenflügen bis zu etwa 400 – 600 Kilometern Distanz in niedrigen Luftschichten, in denen keine Kondensstreifen und Eiswolken entstehen. Auch die Ozonbildung aus Stickoxiden ist hier geringer als in Höhen ab etwa 9 Kilometern. Und schließlich sind die Kerosintanks eines Fliegers, der nur 500 Kilometer zurücklegen muss, viel leichter als bei einem Langstreckenflugzeug. Andererseits fällt der kerosinintensive Steigflug bei einem Kurzstreckenflug viel stärker ins Gewicht als bei einem Interkontinentalflug.
Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema „Distanzen" finden Sie in der Dokumentation des atmosfair Emissionsrechners.

Ist es entscheidend, ob ich mit einem Linien- oder Charterflieger reise?

In einem Charterflugzeug sitzen üblicherweise mehr Passagiere als in einer gleich großen Linienmaschine. Durch die höhere Auslastung der Chartermaschine verursacht ein Pauschalreisender in Relation zum Individualreisenden also eine geringere Klimabelastung.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema „Auslastung" finden Sie in der Dokumentation des atmosfair Emissionsrechners.

Wieso kann man Business oder Economy angeben? Macht das einen Unterschied?

In der Business-Class sind die Stühle breiter – folglich können hier weniger Menschen Platz nehmen als auf demselben Raum in der Economy-Class. Weil der Treibstoffverbrauch pro Person sinkt, wenn mehr Personen im Flieger sitzen, ist der atmosfair-Beitrag für einen Platz in der Business-Class durchschnittlich höher als der Emissionsbeitrag für einen Platz in der Economy-Class. Im Ergebnis spenden also die Economy-Class-Passagiere etwas weniger und die Business-Class-Passagiere etwas mehr als sich im Durchschnitt ergeben würde.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema „Flugklasse" finden Sie in der Dokumentation des atmosfair Emissionsrechners.

Muss ich den Flugzeugtyp kennen?

Je genauer die Flugdaten sind, die Sie in den Emissionsrechner eingeben, desto exakter können die entstehenden Pro-Kopf-Emissionen berechnet werden. Wenn Sie jedoch den Flugzeugtyp nicht wissen, kann der Emissionsbeitrag dennoch mit den atmosfair Näherungswerten berechnet werden. Diese kennen alle Flugzeugtypen, die auf einer Strecke fliegen und bilden daraus jeweils einen Mittelwert. Bei der Angabe des Flugzeugtyps ist  aber  die Berechnung natürlich exakter. Der Emissionsrechner hat die Verbrauchsdaten von allen Verkehrsflugzeugen gespeichert – damit wird der größte Teil des zivilen Luftverkehrs erfasst. Weil auf jeder Strecke nur jeweils bestimmte Modelle eingesetzt werden, setzt der Emissionsrechner aus ihnen ein virtuelles Durchschnittsflugzeug zusammen, das für die entsprechende Verbindung typisch ist.

Detaillierte Informationen zum Thema „Flugzeugtyp" finden Sie in der Dokumentation des atmosfair Emissionsrechners.

Wie genau sind die Ergebnisse des Emissionsrechners?

Klar ist: Berechnet werden kann nur der wahrscheinliche Ausstoß von Klimagasen eines Fluges. Muss das Flugzeug wegen Vereisung der Landebahn Warteschleifen drehen oder ist die Auslastung ausnahmsweise extrem hoch oder niedrig, so kann der Rechner dies nicht einkalkulieren. Insofern kann das Ergebnis des Emissionsrechners nicht so genau sein wie eine direkte Messung vor Ort. Doch seine Ergebnisse dürften der Realität aufgrund der Fülle und der Qualität des zugrunde gelegten Datenmaterials in der Regel gut entsprechen.

Eine Diskussion der Methoden- und Ergebnisgenauigkeit finden Sie in der Dokumentation des atmosfair Emissionsrechners.