Iraq : Power supply for the refugee camp Mam Rashan

Total savings: Photovoltaic system saves, compared to the conventional power production with fossil fuels, a total amount of 580t CO2 each year, over 10 years
Technology transfer: Electricity generation with a 300 kWp photovoltaic system with battery storage
Local environment: Improvement of air quality by reducing the usage of fossil fuels
Further advantages: Education/ Employment, energy efficiency measures and training for residents of the camp
Project Partners: Federal state Baden-Württemberg through the foundation „Stiftung Entwicklungs-Zusammenarbeit Baden-Württemberg" (SEZ)

Irak Status

Promoting sustainable development and creating long-term perspectives

The refugee camp Mam Rashan situated in northern Iraq, 75 kilometers from Mossul is a temporary home to many people seeking refuge. In cooperation with the federal state Baden-Württemberg atmosfair is taking action by finding solutions for the provision of electricity. Power generation through solar energy is going to be the basis for a renewable and stable supply. The potential for solar energy in Iraq is high, resulting in a PV-system being a good ecological alternative for emission-free energy. Qualified know-how combined with an intelligent energy management enables a good balance between the energy supply- and demand-side and prevents power failure. 

Camp

The camp Mam Rashan has already a good logistic and infrastructure. However, the camp is not supplied with electricity during the day.

Background

Since 2014 Iraq is fighting the terrorist army “Islamic state” (IS). Families continue to flee from fights and violence and are forced to leave their home and belongings behind. The fleeing people search for a safe place to live. Millions of people already left Iraq, Syria and Iran seeking a peaceful life without the threating fear of war and terror. Supported by the government, districts, the UN, NGO’s and private donors refugee camps were constructed all over the country to offer a temporary home to people. Mam Rashan is one of those 27 camps especially for internally displaced people (IDPs), situated in the district Dohuk. About 8500 people in approximately 1800 caravans are currently calling the Mam Rashan camp their home. Container with basic equipment were put up thanks to donations. Furthermore, two schools, a hospital, a football field and a trauma center were built in order to provide health, education and facilities. Unfortunately, the camp is supplied with energy mainly by night and electricity for cooking, cooling or operating other electric devices is missing during the day.

Therefore, atmosfair established the project “Energy for Mam Rashan” and aims to take action towards two major challenges: On the one hand a permanent energy supply, and on the other hand the generation of employment possibilities in order to create more opportunities and a promising future. 

New energy for a brighter future

At the moment the camp is only supplied with power from the public grid at night. The federal state Baden-Württemberg through the SEZ sponsored the installation of a 300kWp-photovoltaic system with battery storage, which will cover 20% of the total energy demand. Hence the renewable electricity is not only helping the residents on a daily basis but also protecting the climate by reducing the usage of fossil fuels. The photovoltaic technology is a reliable and sustainable energy source. The plan is to expand the capacity of the system constantly. On the long run the goal is to ensure a hundred percent sustainable power supply. Therefore, atmosfair is continuously looking for monetary and component donations.

Improving quality of life

Within the project, jobs and training opportunities are created that relate to the installation and configuration of the system as well as the maintenance of the plant. Furthermore, the energy consumption will be reduced by energy-saving measures and “awareness-training sessions” for the people living in the camp. For this purpose two “energy-scouts” are trained, which will explain issues such as sustainability and environment protection measures to the households within the camp. 

Kids

An additional objective is the early sensitization of children in the camp, in order to prepare them for a more consciously life with respect to climate protection and sustainability.

Our Partner

The project is supported by the federal state Baden-Württemberg through SEZ. The foundation promotes civil society initiatives and their projects in the context of development cooperation. Within the framework of these projects the goal is to raise public awareness in the state and throughout Germany regarding sustainable development cooperation. atmosfair is thankful for a productive cooperation and looks forward to the implementation of the project. 

Your contact at atmosfair

$picture_alt_text

Nele Erdmann | Manager CDM Projects

Dipl.-Ing. Industrial and Enviromental Engineering

☎ +49 (0) 30 120 84 80 - 63
✉ erdmann@atmosfair.de

Irak : Energieversorgung des Flüchtlingscamps Mam Rashan

Gesamteinsparung: Die Photovoltaikanlage spart, im Vergleich zur konventionellen Stromproduktion mit fossilen Brennstoffen, 580t CO2 pro Jahr ein, gemittelt über 10 Jahre
Technologie: Stromerzeugung aus Sonnenenergie mit einer 300 kWp-Photovoltaikanlage plus Batteriespeicherung
Lokale Umwelt: Verbesserung der Luftqualität durch verminderte Verbrennung fossiler Energieträger
Weitere Vorteile: Ausbildung/Beschäftigung, Energiesparmaßnahmen und Schulungen für Camp-Bewohner
Projektpartner: Bundesland Baden-Württemberg über die Stiftung Entwicklungs-Zusammenarbeit Baden-Württemberg (SEZ)

Tabelle Irak

Nachhaltige Entwicklung fördern und langfristig Perspektiven schaffen

Das Flüchtlingscamp Mam Rashan im Nordirak, 75 km von der Stadt Mossul entfernt, bietet vielen geflohenen Menschen eine vorrübergehende Unterkunft. atmosfair will gemeinsam mit dem Bundesland Baden-Württemberg  Initiative ergreifen und essentielle Herausforderungen, wie die Energieversorgung, vor Ort angehen. Die Stromgenerierung mittels Solartechnik soll dabei die Basis einer klimafreundlichen und sicheren Versorgung sein. Aufgrund des hohen Potentials für Sonnenstrom im Irak, bietet die Photovoltaik-Anlage eine ökologische Option zur emissionsfreien Stromerzeugung. Fachliches Know-how und ein intelligentes Energiemanagement soll die Erzeuger- und Verbraucherseite bestmöglich aufeinander abstimmen und Netzausfälle verhindern. 

Camp

Das Camp Mam Rashan verfügt bereits über eine gute Logistik und Infrastruktur, allerdings wird das Camp tagsüber momentan nicht mit Strom versorgt.

Hintergrund

Seit 2014 befindet sich der Irak im Kampf mit der Terrormiliz „Islamischer Staat“ (IS). Familien fliehen vor den Kämpfen und der Gewalt; sie lassen ihre Heimat und Besitz zurück. Oft gemeinsam, aber auch voneinander getrennt suchen sie nach einem Ort um dem Krieg zu entkommen. Millionen von Menschen sind bereits aus dem Irak, Syrien und dem Iran geflohen, auf der Suche nach Schutz und einem Leben in Frieden. Mit Hilfe der Regierung, den Bezirken, der UN, gemeinnützigen Organisationen und privaten Spendern entstehen Flüchtlingscamps im ganzen Land, die den Menschen gegenwärtig ein Zuhause bieten. Mam Rashan in dem Distrikt Dohuk ist eines dieser 27 Camps speziell für Binnenvertriebene. Rund 8500 Menschen haben in ca. 1800 Wohncontainern Zuflucht gefunden. Spenden ermöglichten die Errichtung von Containern mit der benötigten Grundausstattung. Außerdem wurden zwei Schulen, ein Krankenhaus, ein Fußballplatz und ein Trauma-Zentrum errichtet, um den Menschen vor Ort Zugang zu Bildung, Freizeitgestaltung und Gesundheitseinrichtungen bereitstellen zu können. Momentan wird das Camp hauptsächlich nachts mit Strom  versorgt, wodurch die Energieversorgung für Kühlsysteme, zum Kochen oder für elektronische Geräte tagsüber fehlt. 

Mit dem Projekt „Energie für Mam Rashan“ adressiert atmosfair zwei wichtige Herausforderungen des Camps: Zum einen die Deckung des alltägliche Energiebedarfes und zum anderen die Schaffung neuer Beschäftigung und Perspektiven für die Camp-Bewohner.

Neue Energien für eine bessere Zukunft

Derzeit wird das Camp nur nachts durch das öffentliche Netz mit Strom versorgt. Das Land Baden-Württemberg finanziert über die SEZ  die Installation einer 300kWp-Photovoltaikanlage, die ca. ein Fünftel des Energiebedarfs tagsüber decken wird. Dabei hilft der klimafreundliche Strom nicht nur den Menschen in ihrem Alltag, sondern kommt zusätzlich der Umwelt zugute, da Photovoltaik zur Stromerzeugung keine fossilen Brennstoffe benötigt und eine langfristig verlässliche und nachhaltige Energieversorgung sicherstellt. Die Kapazität der Anlage soll durch Sach- und Geldspenden sukzessive erweitert werden, sodass langfristig eine 100%ige Energieversorgung gesichert ist. 

Verbesserung der Lebensqualität

Im Rahmen des Projekts entstehen Arbeitsplätze und Fortbildungsmöglichkeiten, die an den Aufbau, Installation und Wartung der Anlage geknüpft sind. Außerdem soll über Energieeinsparmaßnahmen und „Awareness-Schulungen“ der Energieverbrauch innerhalb des Camps gesenkt werden. Im Zuge dieser Schulung werden zwei „Energie-Scouts“ ausgebildet, die den Bewohnern die Themenkomplexe effiziente Energienutzung, Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz nahebringen sollen. 

Schulkinder

Ein weiteres Ziel ist die frühzeitige Sensibilisierung der Kinder im Camp, damit Sie später im Leben bewusster mit dem Thema Klimaschutz und Nachhaltigkeit umgehen.

Unser Partner

Das Projekt wird durch das Land Baden-Württemberg über die SEZ gefördert. Die SEZ unterstützt zivilgesellschaftliche Initiativen und ihre partnerschaftlichen Projekte der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit im Ausland. Im Rahmen der Projekte soll das Bewusstsein der Bürger in Baden-Württemberg und deutschlandweit bezüglich nachhaltiger Entwicklungszusammenarbeit gestärkt werden. atmosfair bedankt sich für die konstruktive Zusammenarbeit und blickt zuversichtlich auf die Implementierung des Projektes. 

Ihr Ansprechpartner bei atmosfair

$picture_alt_text

Nele Erdmann | Managerin Klimaschutzprojekte

Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Energie- und Umweltmanagement

☎ +49 (0) 30 120 84 80 - 63
✉ erdmann@atmosfair.de